Nebraska State Bar Foundation

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
News Lincoln East High School Wins State We the People

Lincoln East High School Wins State We the People

Lincoln East High School, the Nebraska We the People Championship team, with the Chief Justice Michael G. Heavican of the Nebraska Supreme Court

On January 31, 2011, the 20-member team from Lincoln East High School won the 2011 We The People: the Citizen and the Constitution State Championship which was held in Lincoln. This team will represent Nebraska in the national competition in Washington, D.C., April 30th-May 2nd. This year's win marks the 6th consecutive state championship win for East High School.

Team members are: Dorothy Chen, Sean Douglas, Aaron Fast, Jonathan Feingold, Aidan Fleischer, Anna Hayden-Roy, Cameron Higley, Rachel Hohlen, Katie Horn, Sam Karas, Parviz Kholmatov, Darrin Lim, Eric Mattson, Abby Newhouse, Jacqueline O'Doherty, Elizabeth Potter, Eric Qiu, Advaith Rau, Kate Rilett, and Adam Slyter. East was coached by teacher, Kevin Rippe.

Taking second place in the competition was the Lincoln Southeast High School-Gold team coached by teacher Dave Nebel. Taking honorable mention in the championship were teams from Lincoln Southeast High School-Black coached by teacher Dave Nebel; and Lincoln Southwest High School coached by teacher Ryan Salem.

Due to the weather conditions teams from Holdrege, coached by teacher Chad Bailey; V.J. & Angela Skutt High School coached by Mary Meyer; and Wilcox-Hildreth High School coached by Ken Meyers prepared for the competition but were unable to attend. More than 124 students competed or participated in preparing for the state championship.

We the People is a nationally acclaimed civics program supported by the U.S. Congress and administered by the Nebraska State Bar Foundation. Participants in the competition demonstrate "a simulated" congressional hearing in which students "testify" before a panel of volunteer judges. Volunteers included staff from each of the local congressional offices and others. Students demonstrate their knowledge and understanding of constitutional principles and have opportunities to evaluate, take, and defend positions on relevant historical and contemporary issues.

At the awards ceremony following the competition Chief Justice Michael G. Heavican, Nebraska Supreme Court, was interviewed by Omaha World Herald reporter Leslie Reed. Each team was presented with a team award and unit awards were given to teams scoring the highest in each of the six units on the Constitution.


Law-Related Education